Developmental Levels

According to the acclaimed National Association for the Education of Young Children, early childhood ranges from birth to age 8.  At Lupine Lane, we view these early childhood years as a prime time to build essential, foundational knowledge and skills through play-based, experiential education to encourage a love for learning, inquiry and discovery.

We form our classes based on common developmental goals in an age range for the consistency of classroom community.  We also allocate ample time for all developmental levels to interact and learn from one another, since these interactions are vitally important to learning and growth as well.

While all of the children in our school are in their early childhood years, we use the following ages as a guideline to structure our classes to achieve classroom communities with children of similar developmental levels.  In addition, we spend a great deal of time with each child and their family prior to enrollment, which is outlined in Steps to Enrollment.  This ensures that each child enters into a classroom community that is developmentally appropriate for their individual developmental level, which is a culmination their unique experiences and environment prior to joining us at Lupine Lane.

2 – 3 years

3 – 4 years

4 – 5 years

5 – 6 years